In recognition of best practice in the study of the human-companion animal relationship, IAHAIO sponsors three international awards. These are presented every three years, to acknowledge outstanding contributions made by individuals or institutions.

In honor of the late Johannes Odendaal of South Africa, and with permission of his heirs, IAHAIO presents this award to an individual for distinguished research in the broadly defined field of human-animal interaction.

The inaugural winner of this award in 2016 was Erika Friedmann.

This prestigious award acknowledges significant scholarly contributions to the field of Anthrozoology represented by a significant output of scholarly publications in the previous 5 years.

Dr Andrea Beetz was the most recent recipient of this award in 2016.

The IAHAIO William F. McCulloch Award acknowledges outstanding achievements of practitioners and educators in the field of human-animal relations, in particular Animal Assisted Interventions.

The most recent winner of this award is Ingrid Stephan.