About the Award

Nominations of individuals may be made by anyone in the field of human-animal relations. They must be made in English, but if the nominee’s publication(s) is (are) in another language, an English summary must be provided along with the English Curriculum Vita (CV) of the nominated candidate. Electronic copies of the nomination (a signed PDF), the CV, and the publication(s) to be considered or their summary (PDFs) must arrive at the IAHAIO administration (admin@iahaio.org) at the specified closing date. The panel of judges for the award consists of five, independent distinguished scholars from different countries, not directly connected with IAHAIO.

Award criteria

Note: A higher academic degree (PhD/Dr. phil, ScD/Dr. sc., DVM, MD) is assumed, but exceptions may be considered.

  1. Consideration of scholarly publications during the previous 5,5 years;
  2. Significance of contribution(s) to the field of Anthrozoology (human-animal relations) including, but not limited to, understanding of the mechanisms involved and implications for animal assisted interventions;
  3. High ethical standards when dealing with people AND animals; and
  4. International reputation of the candidate, e.g participation as a speaker/poster author in international conferences, in international organizations broadly related to the field

Previous award winners are: Elizabeth Lawrence (1989), James Serpell (1992), Karen Allen (1995-6), Arnold Arluke (1998), Frank Ascione (2001), Liliane Bodson (2004), Katherine Grier (2007) and Adam Miklosi (2010), Hungary. The winner of the award in 2013 was Dr. Hal Herzog (USA).